Tags

, , , , ,

The other day, in the Wal-Mart checkout line, I happen to take notice of the magazines. And while I waited in queue to buy my frozen vegetables and three kinds of soap, I had a little giggle at the selection:

    • Tabloid magazines telling me which celebrities are getting rich, thin, and laid.
    • Fashion/lifestyle magazines telling me how I can get rich, thin, and laid. (15 new techniques every issue!…Really? They must be very busy.)
    • A stray psychology magazine telling me how I can get rich, thin, and laid in ten-dollar words.
    • And a lonely cooking magazine touting a cute but unappetizing dessert composed almost entirely of frosting.

One of these things is not like the other…

I have to admit, I almost bought the cupcake instructional purely because it had avoided the otherwise ubiquitous trifecta of standard magazine topics… Almost.

