Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have a game I like to play when I’m stuck in traffic or bored at…home.  I call it ‘Non-Sequiturs’ and it’s a lovely game for writers.

Basically, you take two completely unrelated subjects and see if you can fit them into a single story.  It can be as simple or elaborate as you want… and the results may surprise you.

For example, the other day I chose “Casablanca” and “tacos”, and ended up with this:

A drug cartel has taken control of a small Mexican town.  Maria is desperate to get out – to seek help for the town and fight the cartel.  She looks to her former lover, Pablo, for assistance – but things get tricky when a love triangle emerges and we find out Maria is married to the leader of an opposing cartel.  The whole story centers around Pablo’s restaurant, “La Casa”. 

Is it the best story ever?  Probably not.  But it’s a great exercise if you’re looking for new ideas.

So on that note, let’s start the next round.  I propose “Frank Sinatra” and “The Hanging Gardens of Babylon.”

If you come up with a solution, or you’d like to propose another pair, feel free to post it in the comments.

