Tags

, , , , , , , ,

letter

We are looking for each other

Through the lines hung on the sheets

Looking out for arms and legs

In the scribbled inky beats

I thought I sent an eyelash

You thought you sent an ear

But when we open up our envelopes

They never quite appear

 

Did you get my letter?

I sent you three this week

I tried to send my very best

But it came out awfully meek

The postman says that you’ve sent nothing

Not for many days

I remember when you said you loved me

And tried to count the ways

 

We are dreaming on our paper sheets

Of a time that we call when

When the humming drumming drumming stops

And the lights go on again

 

Yes, I got your letter

I tried to send you three

Two were lost beneath the mud

The other’s still with me

Please don’t blame the postman

It’s not his fault, I think

Let’s go away when I get back

Someplace where glasses clink

 

We are drinking in the ink on paper

Planning a time that we call when

When the aching, awful waiting stops

And the lights go on again

 

I just received your letter

It came this afternoon

I can’t tell you the relief it is

To get a word from you

Yes, let’s go when you get back

Anywhere at all

I hear Vermont is lovely, dear

Especially in the fall

 

We are clinging to our paper selves

Dreaming of a time that we call when

When the humming drumming screaming stops

And the lights go on again

 

Darling, you’re an angel

I think of you every day

The boys can tease me all they want

But I’m glad to feel this way

Just know that I love–

 

We are looking for each other

Through the lines hung on the sheets

Looking out for arms and legs

In the scribbled inky beats

I thought I sent an eyelash

You thought you sent an ear

But when we open up our envelopes

They never quite appear

